Nomination deadline extended for Teaching Excellence Awards

Flier for awards that notes deadline has been extended to nominate people

The nomination deadline has been extended for the 2018-2019 University of Hawaiʻi teaching excellence awards, which recognize extraordinary effort by faculty, librarians, and lecturers. You now have until the end of the day on March 1 to submit something.

Students, staff and faculty can nominate a faculty member (full-time or part-time) or librarian for the 2018-2019 University of Hawai‘i Teaching Excellence Awards. And for the first time, nominations are being accepted for lecturers. The nomination form can be found here:

You can make nominations in three awards categories: The Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching, the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and the inaugural Lecturer Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Frances Davis Award recognizes dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students. The late Frances Davis taught mathematics at Leeward Community College and the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa for 19 years

UH West Oʻahu winners – Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

2004 Michael Hallstone 2009 Stefanie Wilson 2011 Linda Furuto
2017 Monica LaBriola

The Regents Medal for Excellence is based on student, faculty, and staff input. Each year the UH Board of Regents recognizes faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, teaching effectiveness and creativity and personal values that benefit students. The recipients receive a cash award and, in the Fall of 2018, the recipient will receive an engraved Board of Regents medal.

UH West Oʻahu winners – Board of Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching
1980 Barbara Newton 1995 Louis Herman 2012 Linda Furuto
1981 Linda Nishigaya 1999 Gary Helfand   2014 Richard Jones
1982 Roland Stiller 2003 David Alethea 2015 Katie Landgraf
1983 Ekkehard Stiller    2010 Frank Kudo 2016 Michael Furuto
1987 Ross Prizzia   2011 Garyn Tsuru 2018 Jon Magnussen

You may nominate more than one person but use a separate form for each nominee and do not nominate the same person more than once. Questions? Feel free to email

Image courtesy of UHWO Staff