Studentsʻ accomplishments celebrated at Pueo Awards

Group shot of Pueo Award winners.

Fall 2019 Pueo Award winners were recognized at a ceremony Dec. 4.

The Fall 2019 Pueo Awards honored University of Hawai’i-West O’ahu students for their successes and accomplishments this semester both in the classroom and out – whether demonstrating leadership, doing notable work as a student employee or participating in intramural sports. The students were recognized at an awards ceremony Dec. 4 on campus.

Among the honorees were Gabriel Fikani, who received an Intramural Award for Most Valuable Participant, and Pearlena Stone, winner of the Student Service and Leadership Distinction Award.

Ryan Perreira, coordinator for Intramural Sports Program, Fitness and Wellness at UH West Oʻahu, said Fikani is an active participant and exemplifies the seven principles of intramural sports, which includes involvement, participation, fair play, sportsmanship, and organization.

Stone, recipient of the Student Service and Leadership Distinction Award, is described as an exceptional student leader who has served on many student organizations, including the Student Activity Fee Board (SAFB), Psi Chi, and PUEO Mentor Leadership Program, and serves as Caucus member for the Associated Students of the University of Hawaiʻi–West Oʻahu.

“Pearlena Stone has been an outstanding model regarding how a transfer ʻnew traditionalʻ student can make the most out of their college experience,” one of her nominators commented. “She has had lots of opportunities to serve as a panelist and key-note speaker regarding her story of resilience and persistence in college. Her story and speeches has inspired so many students, especially those returning back to school.”

The following is a list of the awards and recipients:

ASUHWO Award: Distinguished Service Medal
Ramon Araujo Jr.
Pearlena Stone

ASUHWO Award: Volunteerism Medal
Ian Bleakley

ASUHWO Incoming Senate Sworn into Office
Paige Pagaduan, Interim Secretary
Gerald Mance, Treasurer
Alyssa Neri, Senior Class Senator
Cassandra Hardin, Freshman Class Senator
Loverra Di Giustino, Humanities Senator
Ramon Araujo Jr., Caucus Ambassador

Recognition of Service for Pueo Leadership
Shayna Olarti
Pearlena Stone

Recognition of Graduating NUFP Fellows
Jaicelynn Aleka
Angelica Blancaflor
Jarlyza Mareko
Shayna Olarti
Pearlena Stone

Recognition of Graduating Student Leaders
Jarlyza Mareko
Shayna Olarti
Treson Reis
Taimane Revolorio
Pearlena Stone

Intramural Awards

Tyto Award – Most Valuable Participant
Gabriel Fikani

Strix Award – Oustanding Female Participant
Aloha Pula

Asio Award – Outstanding Male Participants in Flag Football
Cody Smith
Jamison Renfroe

Hootie Hoo Award – Most Spirited Individual
Ardena Thompson
Ian Bleakley
Bodey Noa
Marmion Kaopua

Raptor Award – Most Outstanding Team
Team Tyto:
Ceyber Silva
Jeffrey Jones
Cody Smith
Anthony Amos
Gabriel Fikani
Jamison Renfroe
Joshua Kaahanui
Naazam Basir
Dareese Lackland
Blake Himeno

Owlet – Newcomer Award
Kaniela Wahilani
Nyah Kahaloa

Power Core Award – Best Yoga Participant
Yvette Abeyta
Errin Lyton
Braeden Kaeo

Rock’s Room Award – Fitness Award
Samuel Adams
Brent Nashiro
Courtney Owen

Helping Hands Award – Best Volunteer
Brad Chen

Tapetum Lucidum – Staff Award
Ceyber Silva

Student Service and Leadership Distinction Award
Pearlena Stone

Group photo of the Campus Center Board.

The Campus Center Board organized and sponsored the Fall 2019 Pueo Awards.


Image courtesy of Mellissa Lochman