UH West Oʻahu team wins flag football championship

Flag football players from Team Tyto posing for a group photo.

Congratulations to University of Hawaiʻi-West Oʻahuʻs Team Tyto for winning the IM LeeSports Flag Football League championship – its first flag football championship – and ending the season with an undefeated 7-0 record.

The league was open to all Oʻahu UH community colleges, Hawaiʻi Pacific University and UH West Oʻahu students. The flag football games, which began Sept. 17 and were held every Tuesday at Moanalua Community Park, culminated Oct. 29 with Team Tyto defeating the Honolulu Community College Wallabyʻs, 13-12.

Team Tyto players were Ceyber Silva (captain), Anthony Amos, Naazam Basir, Gabriel Fikani, Blake Himeno, Jeffrey Jones, Joshua Kaahanui, Dareese Lackland, Jamison Renfroe and Cody Smith.

For more information about flag football fall 2019 at UH West Oʻahu, including rules and stats, visit https://westoahu.hawaii.edu/im/flag-football-sports/.

Image courtesy of UHWO Staff