Nominate a UH West Oʻahu faculty member, librarian for Excellence in Teaching Award

digital sign requesting nominations for Excellence in Teaching Award

You can help recognize outstanding effort by a UH West Oʻahu faculty member or librarian by nominating them for the UH Board of Regentsʻ 2017-2018 Excellence in Teaching awards.  The award acknowledges faculty members who exhibit an extraordinary level of subject mastery and scholarship, are effective teachers and possess qualities that benefit students.

Based on student, faculty, and staff input, each year the UH Board of Regents recognizes one member for outstanding merit. The recipient will receive a cash award and, in the Fall of 2018, the recipient will receive an engraved Board of Regents medal.

“Excellence in Teaching Award” nomination form deadline for submission is noon, Feb. 21, 2018. The nomination form asks why the nominee deserves the award and for specifics on why the nominee might have inspired or impacted lives. Detail can also be included on the quality of their instruction or librarianship, commitment, enthusiasm, resourcefulness and other factors that merit recognition.

Note: faculty members who have already won the award are not eligible. The following faculty have won the award:

1980 Barbara Newton 1995 Louis Herman 2012 Linda Furuto
1981 Linda Nishigaya 1999 Gary Helfand   2014 Richard Jones
1982 Roland Stiller 2003 David Alethea 2015 Katie Landgraf
1983 Ekkehard Stiller    2010 Frank Kudo 2016 Michael Furuto
1987 Ross Prizzia   2011 Garyn Tsuru


Image courtesy of UHWO Staff