UH West Oʻahu takes third place in 2015 AUW softball tournament

2015 UH West Oʻahu faculty and staff softball team

UH West Oʻahu faculty and staff made the University proud with an awesome team effort from the players and cheering fans alike at the 9th Annual University of Hawaiʻi Aloha United Way (AUW) Softball Tournament on Oct. 9. Once again, the UH West Oʻahu cheering section was the loudest by far at Les Murakami Stadium. UH West Oʻahu played UH System in the first game and tied 6-6 due to System’s two-point AUW participation challenge advantage, but team co-captain Mark Nakayama won the tie-breaker jan ken po match! UHWO went on to beat Windward Community College 4-2 but later lost to UH Mānoa and Windward in the third and fourth games. With a 2-2 record, UH West Oʻahu took home third place in the tournament, tying the University’s best-ever finish from last year. UH Mānoa won this year’s tournament beating out Windward Community College in the final game.

Fia softball

Congratulations to all members of the UHWO softball team. You made us proud! A special thank you from the players goes out to all of the UHWO faculty, staff and student fans who came out to support the team. View photos from the UH AUW Softball Tournament on the UHWO flickr page. Mahalo to photographer Terri Ota for sharing these great shots!

2015 softball fans

The 2015 UH West Oʻahu softball team members are

  • Eun Ahn
  • Lehuanani Akau
  • James Amihara
  • Fia Brown
  • Jim Cromwell
  • Michael Furuto
  • Tracy Higa
  • David Kupferman
  • Jon Magnussen
  • Joseph Mareko
  • Shavonn Matsuda
  • Brian Miyamoto
  • Nancy Nakasone
  • Mark Nakayama
  • Ryan Perreira
  • Michael Rivers
  • Alan Rosenfeld
  • Keith Sakuda
  • Stacey K. Sawa
  • John Stanley
  • Erin Tagomori
  • Hoku Talo
  • Sabrina Tolentino
Image courtesy of Terri Ota