Skip to Main Content

NSTA welcomes Jones as new board member


NSTA welcomes Jones as new board member

Image courtesy of UHWO Staff

The University of Hawai‘i–West O‘ahu’s Dr. Richard Jones has been elected to the Board of Directors for the National Science Teaching Association and will represent Post-Secondary Science Teaching for the organization.

“It is an amazing honor to be elected to serve on the NSTA Board and I am humbled by the opportunity to serve college-level science educators at the national level,” said Jones, professor of Science Education with the Education Department at UH West O‘ahu.

The NSTA, the largest professional organization in the world promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all, announced in a June 23 press release it welcomed four new members to its Board of Directors and six new members to its Council.

“NSTA is a professional association that is led by an amazing group of committed, knowledgeable educators. I am honored to work alongside these talented individuals to transform science education to benefit all,” NSTA executive director Dr. Erika Shugart said in the release.

The new board members join a 13-member board that oversees NSTA’s finances, policies and procedures, and strategic planning.

“I look forward to building on the vision and mission of NSTA working over the next three years to equip and empower post-secondary science educators to provide their students access and opportunity to be successful in science,” Jones said.

Click here for a complete listing of the NSTA Board of Directors and Council.