Skip to Main Content
Home Student Life Pueo Awards honored student excellence

Pueo Awards honored student excellence


Spring 2023 Pueo Awards recipients. Image courtesy of UHWO Staff

University of Hawai‘i–West O‘ahu students and their achievements were celebrated at the Spring 2023 Pueo Awards Ceremony & Reception, held April 26 at the Campus Center Multipurpose Room.

Dozens were recognized for academic and leadership excellence, and more, at the semesterly event. The program included a presentation of Chartered Student Organizations (CSOs) highlights and accomplishments, Registered Independent Student Organization (RISO) Awards, Campus Recreation Awards, Academic Excellence Awards, Student Employment Awards, and Leadership Excellence Awards.

The following is a list of the awards and recipients:

RISO Awards
West O‘ahu Psychology Club
Outstanding Member Award: Shayna Bing
Going the Distance Award: Shayna Bing
V.I.P. Officer Award: Leah Francine Agcaoili
O.W.L. Award: Eleneki Fernandes

Campus Recreation Awards
Fitness Fanatic Award
Jamie Perreira
Jenna Perreira
Ronald Shiue
Josiah Aleka

Wellness Development Award
Carley Matsumura
Ashley Eiden

Intramural Recognition Award
Charles “Chuck” Conkleton
Chien-Lung “Jackie” Chang
Ian Bleakley
Justin Ricafort
Michael Pascual
Roberto Jr. Butac
Ronald Shiue
Izaiah Ibarra

Academic Excellence Awards
Humanities Division
Outstanding Academic Achievement in the Humanities Award
Diovanni Castro
Heather Clarke

Mathematics, Natural and Health Sciences Division
Pueo (RISE – Resilient Innovative Scholarly Exceptional) Awards
Pueo RISE Physical Therapist: Kelsey Slade
Pueo RISE Physician Assistant: Payson Burkett
Pueo RISE Nursing: Sayrahlynn Barnayha
Pueo RISE Occupational Therapist: Misa Murata
Pueo RISE Physician: Shayla Kunimura
Pueo RISE Applied Mathematician: MaKenzie Dyess
Pueo RISE Biomedical Researcher: Kalawena Kalehuawehe
Pueo RISE Health Information Manager: Emily Maluyo
Pueo RISE Intellectual Curiosity: Cassie Kawamata
Pueo RISE Excellence Award: Alexis Velasco
Pueo RISE Healer: Kaela Cachola-Tom

Public Administration
Outstanding Students in Community Health
Kiri Hirota
Rhia Sales
Anne Chamness

Outstanding Student in Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Management
Kory Yamada

Outstanding Students in Health Care Administration
Samantha Delgado
Heidi Marquardt
Carl Ko

Outstanding Student in Justice Administration
Patrick Gill Pua

Student Employment Awards
Student Employees of the Semester
Hayden Bonilla
Alyssa General
Jullie Rose Orden

Leadership Excellence Awards
Chartered Student Organizations’ Student Leaders
Stephan Bradley
Mikaela Briones
Christopher Crocco
Noah Dods Medeiros
James Enne
Jeanee Frasco-De La Cruz
Ke‘ala‘iliahi Ford
Ilikea Gould
John Kamakana
Ashley Macho
Carley Matsumura
Marc Mercado, Jr.
Lindsey Millerd
Malie Moe
Gabriel Navalta
Alysha Rothstein
Grace Sapolu
Eunice Suhaana Ubba

Emerging Leadership Award
Mikaela Briones
Eleneki Fernandes

Student Service & Leadership Distinction
Program Specific: Ayshialyn Sabado
Campus-Wide Contribution:
Ke‘ala‘iliahi Ford
Gabriel Navalta

The Spring 2023 Pueo Awards Ceremony & Reception was hosted by the Campus Center Board. Board members who planned and coordinated the event were Ke‘ala‘iliahi Ford, Ilikea Gould, James Enne, Jeanee Frasco-De La Cruz, Eunice Suhaana Ubba, and Alysha Rothstein.